One question you need to ask every time you do something

We always want to do something, whether we want to do it out of curiosity or passion.  There’s always that project you want to finish, to be successful of. Yet, we always get caught up of the little things in life. Chores. Errands. Deadlines you care less about.  Fake news or gossips.  We end up complaining that these things take up our time. Next thing we know, we get tired and not do it anymore.

It’s more than passion that takes you there and it took me a long time to finally understand this.

#DesignHerStory ❤ Speechless.

A post shared by Xyza Rivera (@xyza_rivera) on

I’ve been following Ms. Arriane Serafico since 2012, still known as Wanderrgirl at that time. I subscribed to her through email so when it was our computer programming class, I would check my email and visit her website (while doing the machine problem of the day lol). I was always hyped and inspired by every word she said in her articles. Totally agreed with it and hoping I could do it. But I didn’t.

I didn’t do anything with my “passion.” I used to be a otaku-artsy-tumblr junkie at high school, but I took up a technical course for practicality’s sake.  I made that as an excuse, not to practice drawing regularly, not to do something really creative, not to commit in writing in my tumblog (except during the broken times). It wasn’t that bad either. I was a pretty good student. I became more active in extra-curricular activities while maintaining my grades.  Also made new friends and acquaintances.

Back then, I didn’t really love engineering but I learned to. It wasn’t that easy but it was lighter than other think it might be. I fell in love in how it challenged me, but it sucks when the end goal was to just pass the subject. I saw of mediocre people just do it for other reasons, but that’s them. I tried to stick to what I believed in despite the huge outbreak of “Old TESTaments.” I learned to love the process. Up until now I still want to learn more about it.

Every now and then, I still want to get back to the “high school” me. Maybe because of the resources I had that I barely have now or the hype when I just want to do something. Five years have passed. I want to go back to blogging (like what I’m doing right now). The landscape was different compared back then, too competitive for attention. Go back to some arts stuff, but priorities. I still have to pass the board exams.

I deprived myself from watching anime on my own or learning too many new things. Either I have to find a freelance project to fund my requirements or study for my upcoming exam. It felt like I’m losing time or I wasted an opportunity, but I have to align the things I’m doing to this. I still do a few side stuff, like being active in my communities, but that’s that. I just want to end this cycle of 3 semesters already, that’s how badly I want to pass this exam. The next chapter of my life is waiting for me already. I’m done with my excuses.

So if there is one question you always want to ask yourself self when you do something, it’s:

How badly do you want to do this?

This was from a recent article from Arriane that made me realize things again.  Read it here.

Yes, it will always be about priorities. What’s important back then might not be important now. We mature. We learn more about ourselves. But prioritize things that won’t suck the life out of you. We might have work, but don’t forget to have some time for the important things. It can be your passion project or your family or something that refills you.

Inspiration doesn’t last a lifetime, even motivation doesn’t. Inspiration comes from the hype of others. You can’t  rely your success from someone else. Motivation comes within, but you can’t expect yourself to be of high energy 24/7. We get drained  too. But this isn’t an excuse either to stop what we’re doing then wait for the hype to return; because sometimes I doesn’t go back. This is when discipline kicks in. You still have tedious accounting in the table. Finish it or your financial status in your passion business won’t balance.

Lastly, be gritty. A study by Angela Lee Duckworth has been found that what makes successful people successful is grit.

Grit is passion and perseverance for very long-term goals. Grit is having stamina. Grit is sticking with your future, day in, day out, not just for the week, not just for the month, but for years, and working really hard to make that future a reality. Grit is living life like it’s a marathon, not a sprint.

However, her team is still researching on how can we be grittier. So far a growth mindset can help us do so. You can watch her TED talk here.

I’ve been reading a lot of these stuff since I got into the blogging culture, but I never really hit me hard until these hard times in life. Always have the mindset to learn always. We are always blessed to have a good day every day.

Leave a Reply

